The new album «against the light» is now released!

Get it on your favorite platform

Biography

The year is 2022. The world is teetering on the brink of collapse, and society is doing its best not to fall to pieces. Mostly protected by a mask – because the truth hurts. Even the most brutal punches to the face seem powerless to slow the downward spiral. Within this maelstrom, WAKE remain unwavering, upstanding, and true to their values.

After the digital revolution, 9/11, hyped DJs, pathetic trends, political puppets, and the ongoing pandemic, WAKE are presenting their fifth recording: «against the Light»; a blessing in these dismal times. Such momentary salvation is more important than ever, and WAKE has, after all, spent almost 30 years defending the kind of unity that appears in many places to be disappearing into thin air.

Together, its members ensured that alternative rock was listened to on the national rock scene in the noughties, survived classic band turbulence following recordings in Los Angeles, toured intensively through Switzerland accompanied by rave reviews, and once again extended a collective hand to the rock ‘n’ roll devil. Their friendship was never seriously tested by the drama of loss, the joy of founded families, or the departure of their singer – a novelty, given the prevailing zeitgeist.

After their last album, «Harbor of Waste» (2018), WAKE decided to continue their journey as a quartet. This broke boundaries and created new opportunities that the band skillfully exploited. Their new, uncompromising new album, «against the light» (release May 6, 2022), is now ready. First and foremost, it is punchy and gnarly, wild and dark. Its music and lyrics present a humble counterpoint to all that is threatened with extinction: true craftsmanship, dedication and true passion. You can refuse to accept the light, allow yourself to be dazzled, or face it in good faith. The choice is everyone’s to take for themselves. But one thing is certain: Whichever way you look at it, it has a decisive, trailblazing strength.

Stay WAKE

Merchandise

All songs, CD's, singles, records, downloads and also our other merchandise can be found on «bandcamp»!

Downloads

Download in large resolution (300 dpi / 6720 by 4480 pixels / 20MB)

here...

Download in large resolution (300 dpi / 6497 by 4331 pixels / 13MB)

here...

Download in large resolution (300 dpi / 6283 by 4189 pixels / 11MB)

here...

Download our tec-rider with stage layout and input list as PDF file

here...

Das neue Album «against the light» ist nun veröffentlicht!

Hole es dir auf deiner Lieblingsplattform

Biografie

Wir schreiben das Jahr 2022. Die Welt steht kurz vor dem Kollaps und die Gesellschaft arbeitet daran, sich nicht in ihre Einzelteile aufzulösen. Meistens mit aufgesetzter Maske, denn die Wahrheit tut weh. Auch die grössten Schläge in die Fresse scheinen dem Abwärtskurs nichts anhaben zu können. In diesem Strudel bleiben WAKE sich selbst, standhaft und ihren Werten treu.

Nach der Digitalen Revolution, Nine Eleven, gehypten DJs, traurigen Trends, politischen Marionetten und der anhaltenden Pandemie legen WAKE ihren fünften Tonträger «against the light» vor. Eine Wohltat in der aktuellen Schieflage. Solch kleine Heilsbringer sind wichtiger denn je, und WAKE stehen seit knapp dreissig Jahren eben für jene Verbundenheit ein, die sich da draussen allerorts in Luft aufzulösen scheint.

Gemeinsam verschaffte man in den Nullerjahren dem Alternative Rock in der nationalen Rockszene Gehör, überlebte die klassischen Bandturbulenzen nach Aufnahmen in Los Angeles, tourte intensiv und von guter Presse begleitet durch die Schweiz und reichte dem Rock’n’Roll Teufel abermals die Hand. Dramen von Verlusten, Freuden über Familiengründungen und dem zwischenzeitlichen Ausstieg des Sängers konnten der Freundschaft nie was anhaben. Ein Novum im vorherrschenden Zeitgeist.

Nach dem letzten Album «Harbor Of Waste» (2018), entschieden sich WAKE, die Weiterreise noch zu viert anzutreten. Das sprengte Grenzen und schuf neuen Raum, den die Band zu nutzen wusste. Nun steht mit «against the light» (Release 6. Mai 2022) das neue, kompromisslose Werk bereit. Vorneweg, die Platte ist druckvoll und knorrig -, wild und düster. Sie steht musikalisch und textlich mit Demut dem gegenüber, was auszusterben droht: echtem Handwerk, Herzblut und gelebter Leidenschaft. Man kann sich dem Licht verwehren, sich blenden lassen oder versuchen, sich voller Vertrauen ihm zuzuwenden – diese Entscheidung trifft jeder selbst. Sicher ist nur eines, aus jeder Perspektive hat es eine bestimmende und wegweisende Kraft.

Stay WAKE!

Merchandise

Alle Songs, CD’s, Singles, Platten, Downloads und auch unsere sonstigen Artikel könnt ihr euch auf «bandcamp» holen!

Downloads

Download in grosser Auflösung (300 dpi / 6720 auf 4480 Pixel / 20MB)

hier…

Download in grosser Auflösung (300 dpi / 6497 auf 4331 Pixel / 13MB)

hier…

Download in grosser Auflösung (300 dpi / 6283 auf 4189 Pixel / 11MB)

hier…

Download Tech-Rider mit Stage Layout und Input List als PDF

hier…